What is the factor affecting the image quality of digital photgraphy???

Posted: July 20, 2013 in Art, Science
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
digital_cameras

Digital Cameras and Photography (Photo Credit: Taz Spin, flickr.com)

When I was in class 7th or 8th (probably, some 2 or 3 year ago), I didn’t knew anything about photography. Even now I don’t know much about photography. Photography is a passion for many of the people living in this earth. Even I am one of them, but what to do, when you don’t know even the P of photography(so sad,:( ).But I think there is a thing that I know about photography and many of the passionate photographers don’t know about. The thing that has confused me for years.

The Great Confusion

And the thing is what makes an image HD or what makes an image LD (new abbreviation by great discoverer Deepak Kashyap :P, just kidding)??? The fact is not dependent on the megapixel count of any camera. If so, then we don’t need to buy a professional camera to be a professional photographer, they would have owe a good camera phone like Nokia Pureview or Samsung Galaxy Zoom. The fact is dependent on the image sensor. The image sensor is the one who determines the quality of any image. The professional cameras are filled up with an image sensor which is eligible to take pictures at any state. But the camera phones aren’t. Why???(Question rises every time, any question???)Because the phones are not limited to just photography, they have a lot more to do!!! Not like cameras, the phones are very busy :P.

The types of Image Sensors

image sensor

image_sensor(Photo credit: Flickr.com)

There are two type of image sensors, the one is used in camera phones (people says, mobile phones, do you know where the difference lies??? If yes, you are welcome to hit comments ;)) and the other one is used in cameras (digital, SLRs and DSLRs).

So, the two types are 1. CCD and the no.2 CMOS

The CCD sensors are the one which are to be used in cameras (not phones, just cameras) because they provide a better image quality. The CMOS sensors are usually cheaper than CCD sensors but these sensors (CCD sensors) provide a image quality that can not be avoided by you. CCD sensors are not usually used in the Mobile Phones because if they are to be used in mobile phones, then it would put a great load on the phone’s system(according to my philosophy, I don’t know about others philosophies).

CMOS sensors do provide a good quality of images but the quality is not even comparable with CCD sensors. As a result, a CMOS sensor doesn’t use much of the phone’s (or device’s) battery. This results in a high portability of the device. The photograph we capture with a CMOS sensor camera doesn’t use much of the phone’s memory and this helps in capturing (or clicking, taking etc.) more and more photographs.

And that’s the thing I can brag about with my friends who even know P of Photography. There are much more things that I would like to tell you about Photography.

So, Keep on Reading.

 The Megapixel Myth

 

megapixel count

megapixel count(Photo Credit: Flickr.com)

The biggest myth about the cameras is the megapixel count. I can’t make understand my friends that the megapixel is not the one who can result in better photographs (I don’t think that its my fault that they are not getting what I say, maybe they are not as much intelligent as me J).

Then why are the cameras tagged with a megapixel count???(yeah, this would be the question raised in your mind) You’re so much attentive if you are passing through this question while reading this article.

Don’t worry I will clear all your doubts. The megapixel count is not to brag about good image quality but the megapixel determines how big photograph the camera is able to capture in a good quality. This is not directly relating with image quality. But indirectly somewhere it says that if you a have a bigger image with better quality, then (according to my philosophy) when you shrink it, you will see a better quality (its my thinking or you can say philosophy).

So, here are the sizes of a photograph that is able to be captured by certain megapixel count

3MP —–5 x 7 inches to 8 x 10 inches

4MP —–8 x 10 inches to 8.5 x 11 inches

5MP —–8.5 x 11 inches to 9 x 12 inches

6MP —–9 x 12 inches to 11 x 14 inches

8MP —– 14 x 17 inches to 16 x 20 inches

So, come on, thank me if you didn’t knew about what is megapixel count doing on the camera??? And scold me if you knew this much!!!

Some Abbrevations you must know –

CCD – Charge Coupled Device

CMOS – Complementary Metal Oxide SemiConductors

MP – Megapixel

SLR – Single Lens Reflex

DSLR – Digital Single Lens Reflex

HD – High Definition (similar for HQ – high quality)

LD – Lower Definition (my philosophy 🙂 )

Your Step Next

Liked the article enough then you can share the post with your friends, comment below to the questions I asked above. I have some more questions that should be answered by you. Do You Know anything about Photography that you want to brag about??? How does this article benefits you??? Liked my writing???

Well, the question will not end if I even wrote a whole book for raising questions about this article. Like my blog, my views. Read more. Follow the blog via email, subscribe to RSS and there are much more options to stay connected to this blog. But the best is to friend me on Facebook or otherwise like my gang’s page on Facebook.

Suggested Articles –

Want to earn more photography knowledge, visit them :-

Showcase your photography work :-

Comments
  1. […] What effects the image quality of a digital photograph??? […]

  2. […] What effects the image quality of a digital photograph??? […]

  3. […] What effects the image quality of digital photograph??? […]

Leave a Reply

